I thought I’d share about my vacation. We rented a condo on Shuswap Lake in British Columbia. It’s about a 7 hour drive from Calgary west through the mountains. While the scenery is beautiful along the highway, it’s also pretty curvy with lots of sheer cliffs on one side.

Blind Bay August 2012 (6)

Packing for this trip was surprisingly easy. I didn’t take too much (I only came back with two outfits I didn’t wear), but I also didn’t forget anything important.

Blind Bay Vacation August 2012 (16)

This was the lake we were on. The only time it was cold was first thing in the morning. You could see tons of minnows from the dock, and one of my friends caught a fish.

Blind Bay Vacation August 2012 (10)

We had a little dock, a picnic table, and a little bit of pebbly beach to enjoy. I was always the first one up in the mornings, so I always brought my journal down to the water and enjoyed the scenery and wrote. It was also pretty nice to have it so quiet. At 6:30 in the mornings there’s not a lot going on on the water.

Blind Bay Vacation August 2012 (3)

This was the view we had from the condo. While it definitely could have been better without the power lines and trees, it was still pretty awesome.

Blind Bay Vacation August 2012 (20)

I worked on my tan while I was there. Even though I work  outside I’m still pretty white. At least I came home a little tanner than I left, but I managed to avoid a sunburn.

Blind Bay Vacation August 2012 (6)

We ate all our meals outside on the deck. Somehow the food tasted better with the pretty view. The first couple days I was there, there were 12 of us, so it was definitely a full table.

Blind Bay Vacation August 2012 (59)

My friend’s little one had his first birthday while we were there. He opened gifts (with the help of his older sister) and had lots of fun playing with them.

Blind Bay Vacation August 2012 (68)

We made him a birthday brownie instead of a cake. The oven broke earlier in the week, so we had to use the barbeque to bake them. Once we got the barbeque set to the right temperature it actually worked pretty good.

Blind Bay Vacation August 2012 (71)

Of course half the fun of eating a birthday brownie is making a mess and getting it all over the place.

Blind Bay Vacation August 2012 (1)

The last night I was there were had a gorgeous sunset. The picture doesn’t do it justice, but it was a great way to end the trip.

We went on a hike my third day there, but since I look so many pictures on it I thought I’d make that a post of it’s own.

Have you gone on vacation anywhere this summer? Where did you go?

