Trail Mix August 28 2012 (5)

I wanted to make sure I took some relatively healthy snacks with me while I was on vacation last week, so I decided to make some trail mix. Sometimes store bought tail mixes can be too salty for me. Plus there’s always way too many peanuts and never enough cashews or raisins.

Trail Mix August 28 2012 (1)

Here’s what I put in mine:

  • 2 cups peanuts
  • 2 cups almonds
  • 1 cup pecans
  • 1 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1 cup cashews
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

The recipe makes a LOT of trail mix, so if you don’t want quite as much you can half all the ingredients.

Trail Mix August 28 2012 (2)

I definitely have a sweet tooth, so that’s why I added so many raisins, cranberries, and chocolate chips. Really, you can never go wrong with chocolate chips.

Trail Mix August 28 2012 (3)

Of course I had to test a little bit of it once it was all mixed together.

Trail Mix August 28 2012 (4)

I ended up putting it in a couple sandwich sized bags to take with me. I thought it would be easier to put it in a few smaller bags instead of one big one in case we went on a hike or something and I didn’t want to take all of it with me.

Let me know if you end up trying it, I’d love to hear what you thought of it – or any changes you made.

