Pride and Prejudice  September 19 2012

Summary: When Elizabeth Bennet first meets eligible bachelor Fitzwilliam Darcy, she thinks him arrogant and conceited, while he struggles to remain indifferent to her good looks and lively mind. When she later discovers that Darcy has involved himself in the troubled relationship between his friend Bingley and her beloved sister Jane, she is determined to dislike him more than ever. In the sparkling comedy of manners that follows, Jane Austen shows the folly of judging by first impressions and superbly evokes the friendships, gossip and snobberies of provincial middle-class life.

Review: It somehow always takes me awhile to get these reviews done, I don’t know what it is. I finished Pride and Prejudice over a month ago. Better late than never, right?

I have to start off by admitting that this is one of my favourite books. It’s right up there with Little Women. If you don’t like Pride and Prejudice, I don’t like you. Just joking. A little.

I love the characters in this book – everyone from Elizabeth the heroine, to Wickham, the villain. It’s the characters that make you want to come back (and stay up way too late reading).

Although I don’t think I’d be able to stand spending more than a few minutes with Mrs. Bennet, she gives an interesting insight into what it was like to be a woman in England when the book was set. And Mr. Collins would drive me crazy, with him going on and on about Lady Catherine de Bourgh.

Every time Darcy and Elizabeth talk, I was drawn in, right from the beginning. Even though they couldn’t stand each other for most of the book, you wanted them to get together. Their relationship draws you into the book.

If you’ve never read anything by Jane Austen before, I’d definitely recommend Pride and Prejudice. It’s my favourite book by her. If you’re worried about it being a "classic” and it being boring or hard to understand, it doesn’t take long to figure things out. It’s very readable.

