Pinterest Rum Balls January 12 2013 (10)

I didn’t get a chance to post all of the baking that I did for Christmas before Christmas, so I thought I’d write about it even though the holidays are over. You can’t go wrong with delicious things to bake, right?

We got this recipe from friend of my mom’s close to 20 years ago. I made them just about every Christmas. The secret to these are adding more rum than the recipe says to.

Rum Babbas December 18 2012 (11)

Melt together half a cup of butter, half a cup of icing sugar, and 3/4 cups of semi sweet chocolate chips.

Rum Babbas December 18 2012 (1)

I usually do it in the microwave, but it could be done in a double boiler as well.

Rum Babbas December 18 2012 (2)

The chocolate smells so good at this point.

Rum Babbas December 18 2012 (4)

Add two eggs, a pinch of salt, one and a quarter cups of graham crumbs, and three tablespoons of rum. Mix well.

Rum Babbas December 18 2012 (5)

Cover and chill mixture well. I usually leave it in the fridge for a couple hours

Rum Babbas December 18 2012 (9)

Roll into one inch balls.

Rum Babbas December 18 2012 (8)

Coat with chocolate sprinkles.

Rum Babbas December 18 2012 (10)

Store in the fridge or freezer. These always disappear pretty quick in our house so I try to make them as close as possible to Christmas.

What’s your favourite thing to bake?

