Soccer Team July 2 2012

Last week was our last official soccer game. I’m pretty sad about it. I’m really going to miss my purple teammates. It’s amazing how fast two and a half months go by. Especially when you consider I had no idea how to play soccer when I started in April. I’m still not very good, but at least now I know the rules, positions, and what I’m doing when I’m on the field.

I figured since it was our last game I would give it everything I had. Even when I was exhausted close to the end of the game, I ran to be where I needed to be. I wanted to make sure I put in 100%.

It ended up paying off, cause I was in the perfect spot to take a shot on goal – and it went in! I scored my very first point! I was pretty excited about it. At first I thought it bounced off a teammate, but when I talked to her after, she said it just brushed past her jersey and didn’t actually deflect off her.

We had our wind-up party on Tuesday. Because the game was cancelled before because of the rain, everyone came in their regular street clothes and makeup. It was great to see everyone out of their jerseys and ponytails. There was lots of food, drinks, and talking. It was definitely a great way to end the season. The league doesn’t keep score or track standings, so there weren’t any awards or trophies. It was just a night to spend time together.

Lucky for me, soccer isn’t over with completely. Once a week during the summer we’ll have drop-in games for whoever is interested. It’s free (yay!), but won’t be refereed. We’re a pretty easy going bunch, so I don’t think that’ll be a problem at all.

I’m so glad I decided to sign up. It’s been awesome playing with everyone – from university level players to people completely new to soccer like me. I think I’ve learned something from just about everyone.

